Formula Mathematics Equation Mathematical Symbol Geometry Information Concept

Formula Mathematics Equation Mathematical Symbol Geometry Information Concept

Award for Irish Teachers of Mathematics


The 2019-2020 edition is now open. You can find about past editions here: 2017-2018; 2018-2019.

The Award for Irish Teachers of Mathematics 2018-2019
Sunday, 26th May 2019 in Aula Maxima, University College Cork 

2019 WINNER (left)

Sarah Tallon from St. Leo’s College,

Old Dublin Road, Carlow.


2019 RUNNER-UP (right)


Breda Disney from Patrician Secondary School,  Newbridge, Co. Kildare. 


Pictured here with sponsor Frank Kenny of the Frank Kenny fund for the Community Foundation for Ireland. 


The 2018-2019 award is also supported by Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) through its SFI Discover programme #believeinscience.


 Michael Moynihan, CPD-coordinator of IMTA, handed the trophy and plaques to winner Sarah Tallon and runner-up Breda Disney. A special plaque for life-time activity was offered posthumously to Eileen O'Grady. Received by her daughter Anne O'Grady. 

Click on photos for more information

Diplomas of Excellence were awarded to finalists Eoghan O'Leary from Hamilton High School, Bandon, Co Cork; David McEvoy from  St. Mary’s Secondary School Edenderry, Derek Maher from Holy Family Community School, Kilteel Road, Rathcoole, Co. Dublin and Colm Kenny from  Manor House School, Raheny, Dublin 5.

Previous editions

Click on photos for more information

Adresses by Prof. Stephen Buckley, MRIA and IMT director; Dr. Tom Carroll, UCC and IMS vp and Dr. Bernd Kreussler, MIC, chair of the IMT

Click on photos for more information

Superb musical interludes by young award-winning musician - mathematicians Alison Riordan from UCC and Archie Connolly from Rice College, Ennis, followed by inspiring olympiad stories by Laura Cosgrave from Midleton Community School and Tianyiwa Xie from Alexandra College.

Click on photos for more information

Two lovely surprises by maths olympian Sarah Lane and her friends Alison, Susie, Amelia and Meave from the Joan Denise Moriarty School of Dance, and a fantastic group of university staff including two mathematicians - Kieran Mulchrone and Martin Killian from the School of Mathematical Sciences, UCC - and an engineer - Michael Coughlan, CIT .

The Roll of Honour of the Irish Mathematical Olympiad and five members of the team that will represent Ireland at the 60th International Mathematical Olympiad in Bath, UK, July 2019. 

Click on photos for more information