top of page
Formula Mathematics Equation Mathematical Symbol Geometry Information Concept

Formula Mathematics Equation Mathematical Symbol Geometry Information Concept

Award for Irish Teachers of Mathematics

The inaugural Award for Irish Teachers of Mathematics was celebrated
this Saturday, 26th May 2018 in Aula Maxima, University College Cork (UCC).
The Award was celebrated jointly with the 30 years anniversary
of Ireland's participation in the International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO).
Anchor 1

Click on photos for more information

 WINNER Irene Stone from St. Mark’s Community School, Tallaght, (right) and the RUNNER-UP Breda Disney from Patrician Secondary School,  Newbridge, Co. Kildare, (left) received their awards from Michael Moynihan, CPD-coordinator of IMTA. Pictured in the centre with sponsor Frank  Kenny of the Frank Kenny fund for the Community Foundation for Ireland. The 2017-2018 award is also generously supported by Science Foundation Ireland (SFI) through its SFI Discover programme #believeinscience.

Welcome Addresses: Prof. Stephen Buckley, MRIA, Prof. Finbarr O'Sullivan, Prof. Sean Dineen and Dr. Bernd Kreussler. 

DIPLOMAS OF EXCELLENCE awarded to Linda Cusack, Edel-Ryder-Hanrahan, Niall Murphy, Kristin Troy and Sinead O'Donovan. Also awarded in absentia to Áine Devlin, Aoife Harrison, Edel McPhelim and Eoghan O'Leary. 

Superb musical interludes by young award-winning musician - mathematicians: 

Alison Riordan and Saoirse Lonergan, Cillian Williamson, Antonia Huang and Kevin Jansson. 

Strong mathematics skills are a critical factor for the future development of the economy, and teachers are in the front-line of fostering such skills among the young. The Award for Irish Teachers of Mathematics mirrors a number of similar initiatives in other countries, in particular the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences’ Teachers Prize in mathematics and science, and the US -based Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching and the Rosenthal Prize for Innovation and Inspiration in Math Teaching.  Professional expertise in the subject of Mathematics, effective teaching practices, care for students' development and contributions to the community have all been taken into consideration when deliberating for this award. The prize comes with awards of €10,000 for the winner and €2,000 for the runner-up who will be announced at the ceremony. The award is administered by the Irish Mathematical Trust. The Royal Irish Academy has nominated a member to the jury, to help ensure the integrity of the process.

Please reload